Summer Diaries

Chapter 2

“Live in each season as it passes; breathe the air, drink the drink, taste the fruit, and resign yourself to the influence of the earth.”

Standing there viewing the world around me made me mesmerized once again. To the one side of the road stood the dense forest where you could not find any trail of human life.

The Jungle
The Jungle

And to the sheer surprise another one held a village inhabiting humans. My brother used to start running towards our home but me being the shy one use to walk beside my mother. Holding her wane, I use to peep and observe people who use to greet my parents. Sometimes I use to give a wry smile to the people who called my name lovingly. Those steps from the road to our home were the most uneasy steps for me.

*************

My brother who was an extrovert was unruffled by this change of surroundings. He always entered from backyard and hid himself in the kitchen.

Backyard at present
Backyard at present

I always entered from the front with my parents.

Front view at present
Front view at present

My mother use to pretend that he has not accompanied us on this trip to which my grandmother use to get disappointed and at that moment he use to unveil himself from behind. We use to laugh aloud on this 😀.At that time I never understood why they played this game of hide and seek each and every year. But now when I recall that moment I realize that it was to make the reunion more jovial. It was the way when two kids, one old and other young meet each other 🙂 In our custom when we meet, we touch feet of all the elderly people present there at home and in return they hug us and throw a thousand kisses on our face 😛 I use to get irritated with these kisses but now when I am on the other side I too, do the same 😉

***********

So after this meeting ritual we use to mingle with our cousins whom we have forgotten a bit from our last trip. Sometimes some new ones were there, who would have been born in that duration of a year. We were divided into three equal age categoriesthe big ones who were quite big and were in high standards and would come for a small duration of timethan there came our group which was headed by my cousin sister who was the eldest amongst usand the last one included the crawling and diaper ones 😀.

***********

Early morning we would accompany our mothers or anyone’s mother to a nearby canal for taking bath.

nahr
Canal

The bath had two benefits, firstly free plays in water and the most important one free mangoes 😉. The village is house of thousands of mango trees. Our home was surrounded by a three mango orchard having the most delicious mangoes I have eaten so far. It had three very famous varieties Dasheri, Langra and Kalami.

Mango orchards
Mango orchards

IMG-20150823-WA0008

The orchards had few trees of litchi and guava too. We were dragged out of the canal sometimes we came our own with the fake promise that in the evening we would be allowed to go the river Kosi. After coming back from our local swimming sessions we attacked the delicious food made by my grandmother. She was the best cook for me after my mom. The yummy mango chutneys with hot paratha was one of the best breakfast I have ever had.

mango chutney
mango chutney
parantha2
Plain Paratha

After overloading our stomachs, we use to run towards our room for playing our games. Nobody was allowed in our zone not even our mothers 😛.We always kept a kid cousin of ours as sentinel to keep check that no other amongst them should enter our gaming zone. The prize in return was an entry to our kingdom 😉 The game was the character play where each one was assigned some character and they had to behave accordingly. We were six to seven in numbers and we never had any fight 🙂 ..Never 🙂

*******************

After much persuasion we were brought downstairs for having our lunch, which included Dali, rice, roti and Subzi and the desert was sweet mangoes. My grandmother use to put mangoes in a bucket full of water as we didn’t have fridge at that time. We were allowed to have as many mangoes as our stomach could intake. And we have many funny stories linked with it 😉 But that will be shared later on 😛

***********

The evening was the best time as we were taken to the river side of the Kosi. And there the breathtaking view awaited us.

IMG-20150823-WA0007
River Kosi

Note : Check here for Summer Diaries : Chapter 1

To be continued ……

65 thoughts on “Summer Diaries

  1. Wow! Such a lovely one. Mangoes in a bucket of water is what I remember too from my childhood days. Awesome post. We had this road that led to my Nani’s place and the road said “Yeh aam raasta nahi hai”. Imagine that written in hindi. Some of my older cousins had scratched the gap between R and that board used to read “Yeh aam sasta nahi hai”. How much we used to giggle over that! 🙂
    Neeraja- I am glad I am reading these posts. Yes, been a little occupied, travelling and all that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah our fridge- less days 😛 Your cousins were big prankster ..lol 😀 I am still laughing thinking of that 😛 I am glad you are liking my posts 🙂 It feel great when someone has same childhood like yours and your able to make them nostalgic through your posts 🙂 ❤

      Like

    1. Family reunions are fun 😀 at-least when you are a kid who doesn’t understand anything elders talk about 😉 Now the place looks quite different …so many resorts have been built up that the place has lost it’s charm 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Guess what…I am from Uttarakhand too. Thank you for visiting my blog. For the first time I have met a fellow pahadi in wordpress. This is so exciting. 🙂 🙂 We almost have the same kind of memories. And your nani’s house looks exactly like my home at village. 🙂 I love such nostalgic posts…..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 Same here 🙂 even I am meeting first pahadi on WP 🙂 It’s feels great when you share geographical area with some one 🙂 So where do you live now ?

      Like

  3. I really enjoy reading about other people’s lives. I guess that is why I am addicted to reality tv 😛 My grandmother was German and she insisted that you kiss her on the mouth in greeting each other. She had these skinny wet lips and we always wiped our mouths afterward and she would playfully slap at us and say “Don’t you wipe that off.” Of course today, that is one of our favorite memories. Thanks for giving us a peek into your childhood. Oh, by the way, Paratha looks a lot like Mexican tortillas. My husband is Hispanic so we also love Mango.

    Like

    1. I am glad that you liked my memoirs 🙂 Actually I too feel same…memoirs do connect us with others …as we can see part of us in their lives 🙂 I think all grandmothers are loving and charming 🙂 They are made to spoil you 😛 …about paratha ..I haven’t eaten Mexican tortillas may be they are somewhat same 😛 … I think mango is one fruit that is loved in almost every part of world 😀 …Now after learning so many things about you I must say you have covered lot of geographical area in your home 😉

      Like

  4. Oh wow, those are splendid childhood memories. Seems you’re from India, I too am!
    😄 I liked your writing style very much, I will surely read more when time permits 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You know NJ, when I was reading this superb piece of writing , I found myself walking on those hilly,rough way to my village.We used to walk on foot nearly one hour before reaching my village as there was no conveyance available for my village. and yes those rain of kisses that my grand-ma used to paste all over my face..Nostalgia!!
    Thanks for making me travel back to my memory lanes..:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much dear 🙂 I know there are some villages in Uttrakhand where you need to walk miles before you reach home 🙂 Grandparents have their own way of showering love on you 😛 I am glad that my write up was able to take you down the memory lane 🙂

      Like

  6. Waiting for the funny mango stories… 😛

    Neerja.. Wonderful narrative.. The only thing is I need more.. 🙂 Come up with the next chapter soon.. Please..
    The topography i have here in Kerala & yours are totally different.. But after reading the memoir I felt like all childhood days are same.. 🙂 It took me to lot many similar memories I have about my childhood… 🙂 Nostalgic..
    You are amazing dear… Waiting for the next.. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you such nimzy 🙂 ❤ ..It feels great if some one could relate to your stories 🙂 I was actually waiting for the photographs 🙂 Most of the pictures are clicked by my cousin 🙂 But next one will be out soon 🙂 Thank you for joining the joy ride 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve been waiting patiently for this trip and thanks…..The accompanying pictures make the memoir more lively. This is one of the most charming memoirs I’ve read in a long, long time and I wish this never, ever ends….It is so full of warmth that it has reached my inner-most core. Buddy you are a genius!!! I am at loss of words actually…..just take it that I am too moved to say much….. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh Sri ❤ your words had made ecstatic :-* . After writing the chapter I wasn't satisfied as it didn't turned up to my expectations 😦 But your comment has taken me out of that guilt 🙂 Thank you so much for all the appreciation you have bestowed on me 🙂 I owe you a hug 😉 ❤ Love You 🙂

      Like

  8. This is a beautiful memoir, Neerja. I love that you are so close to your family. I’m jealous that you have so many mangoes! So yummy! How funny that the cousins had a gaming zone. Kids are the same the world over!

    Like

    1. Thank you 🙂 ha ha 😀 mango is our national fruit and is found in most of the places in our country but the taste and variety do differ 🙂 and yup truly said….kids are same every where 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I am just surrounded with all the memories in my mind of my childhood, when we all cousins play, go swimming, eat mangoes, etc. Really it was great to read all this and feel the childhood.

    At last in one word is AWESOME…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah memoirs do take us to different world reminding us of our past and connecting us to our future 🙂 they give insight of once life and culture 🙂 and they actually connect people irrespective of their geographical boundaries 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  10. Hello Ame,

    It’s a wonderful read and brought back my memories of childhood. I loved hide-and-seek. 🙂

    You mentioned about your brother being an introvert. Were you an introvert?

    I feel you’re an extrovert now. What do you think?

    Those mango groves remind me of my childhood in villages. I live in Madhya Pradesh.

    I worked as a programmer too. Which type of dance you pursue?

    Anand

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi ..thnx aton 🙂 he was an extrovert and still is 🙂 and earlier I was an introvert but 8 years of hostel life turned me into an extrovert 🙂 glad my post took you down your memory lane 🙂 my native place is utttakhand but I am born and brought up in Rajasthan 🙂 In school time I use to do folk dance than moved to classical 🙂 but now I am keen follower of contempary 🙂 but the only form I tune to is Bollywood 😉

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

