Summer Diaries

Chapter-6

“Since nature is a beautiful temple, a beautiful temple inside the nature is a temple within the temple, it is a pearl within the pearl, a diamond within the diamond!”

In our month long stay a day was fixed for the visit of Garjiya. It is a beautiful temple of goddess Durga in the midst of the flowing water of Kosi. This temple was three kilometers from our house. We generally use to walk to the temple. In those days there was no facility of cabs or auto rickshaws in villages. People either used to travel by bus or paraded on their feet. My grandmother used to pack a small bag full of fresh flowers from our home garden, sandalwood paste (Chandan), kumkum (vermilion powder), rice grains and leaves of holy plants like tulsi, bilva and ankado to offer to God.This is called as Archanam.

I used to walk a few meters and would start cribbing to my parents to either stop a bus or take me in their arms. I was a lazy kid and I am still like that 😛 But you know how parents are , they know ways to distract you from the nagging 😉 So my father would ask me to recite counting from one to a hundred, but in reverse order without a mistake 😛 And it was not at all easy when you are four or five years old 😛 To add up to this pursuit of diversion ,my mother would start telling me the story of the temple.

****************************

One day a big rock that got cut from the Himalayan range came floating in the river and stood at the place where it is right now. On the same day a man of the village got a dream that Goddess Shakti was telling him about her presence in the same rock. He discussed his dream with the people of village. So they took the decision that they will check the rock for the same. But there was one problem. It was a huge rock and there was no ladder of that size in the village. Then someone suggested that they should climb the rock to check the authenticity of the dream. A famous climber of trees was allotted the task. It took him several hours to reach the pinnacle. And when he reached the top, he was bewildered to see the statue. He yelled that their dream has come true. The goddess has bestowed her blessings on the village. For a long time people always climbed the rock to pay a visit to the temple. After a very long time the temple was renovated to its present form.

IMG-20150823-WA0020

**************************

The road to the temple was serene and beautiful. No vehicles on road. Lush green forest on one side and peaceful village on the other. And there was one shortcut too, which used to cut our journey by half kilometer. On this shortcut was a small bridge that we needed to cross to reach the other side and it used to land us at the back side of the temple. Now a day’s this bridge is the home of many adventure sports like Slithering (one wears a harness and slides from a bridge with a help of a rope into the river) , River Crossing, Rock Climbing etc. I always loved standing on the bridge and hearing the sound of the flowing river.Now when I stand on that same bridge I feel as if the bridge is muttering something in my ears with the whistling wind …as if it is saying that our life is just like a bridge we need to cross it from one heaven of birth to another one of death without any fear .

real view
real view
the photoshop view
the photoshop view

************************************

After crossing the bridge we reached at the back side of the temple.

back view of temple
back view of temple

After walking for a few more steps there stood a beautiful white temple with its more than hundred stairs to step on to reach the almighty.

garjiya1

Garjiya-Devi-Temple-Nainital

There was one distant relative of my mother who used to own a stall in temple vicinity. My parents always bought Prasad from his shop.

And the next thing, I remember, slithering on the steps tiredly just because dad promised that he will buy bangles for me from the nearby stalls. As soon as we reached on the top it felt amazing. We use to chant mantras and sing prayers in praise of Goddess Shakti. Then we did three Parikrama ( circumambulation) of the temple. After finishing the ritual we use to stand there at the top for some time. It was so blissful to watch the flowing river and blue sky above it.

While getting down from the staircase I used to feel so energetic. The enthusiasm of buying and eating things pumped energy in my lethargic body 😛 We use to buy deity lockets for us and all our cousins. Sometimes my mother used to buy bangles or clips or bands for me. On our continuous persuasion we were given a glass of fresh juice or lime soda and some snacks too 😛 Then we were dragged from there on to the road. I use to straightforwardly deny walking back home. So we waited for the bus to take us back. Once on the bus I again became the cheery soul.

*************************

To be continued …..

Please read the other chapters if you have missed them from below :

Chapter-1

Chapter-2

Chapter-3

Chapter-4

Chapter-5

61 thoughts on “Summer Diaries

  1. Yet another awesome post and yaar khush kar deti ho tum 😀 didn’t know the English word from parikrama but now I do 😛 yeah, ab tumhare post padh kar mere ko yaad aa rahi hai thodi thodi mere bachpan ki baatein 😉 You’re a great writer ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the quote at the beginning of the blog, it’s awesome ❤ You have so many fond memories NJ and by writing them all here you are writing history. 🙂 For your own kids and family. Bravo to you! 🙂

    Like

    1. Yeah I too loved it ❤ Very beautiful quote it is 🙂 And yes If I got published that's good 😛 Yes trying to create a legacy..Isn't it ..what we all think about ? Thank you for all the love darling ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love quotes very much, keep them coming 🙂 I have a section on my blog with some too. I really hope you get published that would be so amazing! You are already creating your legacy, don’t give up! ❤ You're doing great. 😀 Thanks for so much love too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Wao NJ, that was so descriptive. The pictures added to the blog are a treat to the eyes.The stories behind the existence of temples are always fascinating and the temples that are too far from the city crowd,somewhere in the lap of the nature are always mysterious.
    Very well written.
    Loved every word of it.
    Love n Hugs.. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Neerja..
    Sorry I was a bit late in reaching here.. 🙂

    Once again a wonderful chapter in front of my eyes.. Awesome snaps dear.. I wish to walk through that bridge.. 🙂 And I wish to look down standing in the top of the mount.. What a wonderful place is yours!! 🙂
    And once again, your writing is superbly awesome (Is there any word like that?? 😛 )
    Once again a walk through my childhood with your childhood.. 😀
    Loved it… Hope more and more and more is coming.. ❤ ❤
    🙂
    All love.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aha …I was waiting for this comment from the time I posted this 😛 And finally you are here with it 😉 I am so glad that you liked the post. Every time when you say that you walk your childhood through my memoirs 🙂 It makes me immensely happy 🙂 I feel as if I have succeeded in my venture of writing these memoirs ❤ thank you for all the love darling ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Superb writing….
    Every chapter brings my childhood alive also provides me some information I am not aware about .
    Your doing real great job 👍👍👍👍👍
    Next chapter is awaited…..

    Liked by 1 person

  6. nice .. nd wrote truly … something is missing is … the shortcut bridge was suspension bridge .. it dances when a good amount of crowd over it walking …. & The old wooden bridge over kosi .. which floats away during rainy seasons …

    Rest is touchy and loves to read it ….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you so much hargun 🙂 It feels great when people read every chapter of your series and comment on it 🙂 And you should surely visit the place some day ..I think you are living in Delhi ..its 7 hours from Delhi ..you can go there on some extended weekend 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Apart from the part that this is a beautiful memoir, this is also a lesson in how to make a read interesting – adding those bits of personal touches like purchase of bangles, persuading parents for a juice….these are visual marvels….One can actually SEE it happening! And this is how you prove yourself to be a writer par excellence! I am glad I know you and read your works…I pick up tips from you! Brilliant buddy! May this be a never ending memoir!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. When I write these memoir my childhood comes in front of my eyes ..these memoirs are most cherished part of my life..when I write them here for you ..I baring my soul for you ❤ …I am so overwhelmed right now ….because to think that you can pick something from me is itself a great thing for me ❤ thank you so much for all the love you shower on me ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Hey NJ ( I want to call you Neeru, but maybe that is reserved for your brother or family?)

    This is such a beautiful post. Which great author said that quote on top?

    Amazing pictures and the story behind the creation of the temple.
    Which place/state this temple is located in?
    Hands-down you are the only blogger out of thousands who had the happiest childhood. Your memories of early childhood are so vivid and I can so relate with them!

    May Shakti keep you, your family and friends blessed.
    Love and light ❤
    Anand 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. My nick name is not neeru 😛 as my other cousin is named so 😛 … Well you can call me Neerja instead of NJ that works fine with me 😛
      I have given link in my post itself…with name of Girjiya …it’s in Uttrakhand …Jim Corbett park 🙂 I am glad that you can connect to my memories…
      Thank you so much for all your wishes 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

