When nature unfolds its own story

I am a loquacious person only morning blues, traveling views, reading booze and writing enthuse can stop me from one of my favorite activity.

As many of you know, I took a small break from blogging world, to go home and celebrate Diwali with my family. Now that I am married and staying quite far from my home, this is an annual ritual for me. Dividing my 2 weeks stay between my two homes.

This whole stay meant lot of traveling, for people like me who are reluctant travelers, this was lot to ask for. But the excitement of meeting my whole family and friends outweighed everything.

These journeys are fulfilling as they give me lot of introspection time. They are meditative experiences for me. Watching people, places and nature is my favorite passing time activity. When, I am in traveling mode, I tend to avoid my obsession with Reading instead I try to find inspiration for my writing art. I am glad that I was filled with many such experiences. Slowly and steadily, I will unfold them for you all.

For seeing inspiration in small things, you need to watch out. That’s why since childhood, I always try to grab the window seat πŸ˜› . Then the race was between me and my brother and now it is with my hubby dear, who is a tortoise in these races. But his fear for heights means a window seat for me without any clash on all our flight’s πŸ˜‰

For the first time, I took a flight in daytime that was accompanied by a clear beautiful sky. The blanket of clouds took me down to my childhood memory lane.

For the first time, dad came home, from his usual 20 days tour, early. We were surprised how come he was early by 2 days then his given time but we didn’t payed much heed to it and got busied in unpacking his traveling bag to look out for traces of present. Whenever dad traveled to a far flung or a new place he used to bring gifts or some specialty of food item of that place. This time he brought a beautiful Saree for mom, and shorts for both of us. We were immensely happy with the outcome of our search operation.

Dad was freshened up by then and asked us the usual questions about our studies. He was strict with us, when it came to studies and he used to keep a close watch on us regarding it. When he was out of home, mom became his eyes and ears, changing her usual soften mode.

While serving us the lunch, mom asked him about his early arrival. To this he simply replied, by flight. We were perplexed by his answer. Because back then, in India traveling by flight was an unusual thing to do, only rich and high post people used to do it. We were out with so many questions for him to be answered. And he patiently answered them all.

But I still remember my first question back then.

Me: How does clouds look from there, Papa?

Dad: It just look like a scoop of vanilla ice-cream πŸ™‚

Me: Wow πŸ™‚ Hope, I see them, someday, that way πŸ™‚

This conversation that took place a decade ago brought smile on my face. Thinking of the time, I so desperately wished to have that look.

I thanked god for fulfilling one more wish of mine.

Here are two beautiful pictures from not so nice phone of mine with amazing quote by Victor Hugo πŸ˜‰

“The clouds, – the only birds that never sleep.”

blog_cloud

blog_cloud2

 

Share your first flight journey πŸ™‚ I would like to hear you all πŸ™‚

38 thoughts on “When nature unfolds its own story

  1. I’m on cloud nine with this post, Neerja Di πŸ˜‰ Pun intended ❀ Spicejet 😍 It brings back memories of last year when I flew for a religious tour to Kasi and Gaya with my aunt. Just like you, I race for window seats and it looks like you're seated in the exact seat I was last year, because my view of the outside was just like that, half of the plane's right wing πŸ˜‰ Hehe. But my first flight was when I was four years old and it was on British Airways onward to London Heathrow ❀ Half the time I was throwing up, so it's not a pleasant memory πŸ˜€ So I'll skip forwards to my flight journeys in my teen years whenever I go back to England during summer holidays. I only love British Airways as it is a through flight from Chennai to London and normally the flight will be nearly half empty. Only during return journeys all the seats will be filled with Indians πŸ™‚ I only love the onward journey because I'll be so excited to see Mum, Dad and my bro ❀ I'll be bouncing up and down as we fly over Europe, knowing I'm getting closer and closer to home 😍 Meantime I'll be having fun watching movies and receiving the pampering from the air hostess who is assigned to take care of me πŸ˜€ And yes, I'll sleep leisurely by flipping up the arm rests of the middle seats and stretching out on a pillow under a cosy blanket πŸ˜€ And while descending onto London Heathrow, my heart will be swelling with happiness ❀ And I'll be so bouncy that I'll rush into my mother's arms soon ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow πŸ˜€ … now you have interesting stories of flight journey’s πŸ™‚ Hope I get the glimpse of those in detail in your books πŸ˜‰ and considering Indian point of view … you were lucky kid who was allowed to travel all alone at such young age πŸ˜‰ As a kid always fantasied about traveling alone ..I still love traveling alone but only for short duration’s πŸ˜› Beautiful description darling ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww ❀ Actually, my books don't have anything about me, Neerja Di πŸ˜€ But if you're really interested in stories of my flight journeys, I'll share them via our private chats πŸ’‹ Those were memorable times, you know. Every relative of mine will hyperventilate going 'Aren't you scared flying alone for ten hours straight?' But it was never scary πŸ™‚ It's only a mixture of happiness and sadness. Because onwards I'll be so happy and excited. But as I return, I spend half the time crying for my mother in the women's bathroom πŸ˜₯ I keep on crying to myself as I see the map channel on the television. It indicates how far we have come in our journey and will mark our departure and destination. As London goes farther and farther away, my depression increases 😦
        Ah well πŸ™‚ That was eight years ago πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Again a breath taking blog NJ…you have inspired my writing and reading skills again which I have left back then in my teenage…and I am so glad that being away from your family still God is showing you their presence.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! This was wonderful and I LOVED the fact that you made it so interactive. I do not exactly recall my first flight but the one that has remain etched in the memory forever is flying above Egypt. The pilot was kind enough to ask us to look out for the pyramids and the river nile. The fact that I could faintly detect the pyramids and the strip of blue nile through the desert gave me a real high! It was one of the precious flight moments for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sri πŸ™‚ I am trying my best to comeback in full writing mode πŸ˜€ And girlie pyramids along with nile river must have been a view πŸ™‚ my so far best was traveling to goa πŸ™‚ Blue water every where with patches of green πŸ™‚ etched in my memory πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. My first fly was to Qatar.. A 4 and half hours journey with my sister & niece.. To say, I hate flying.. πŸ˜‰ It seems to be the most boring journey for me.. I take off by evening while the sun just jumped into the sea & had a night fly.. My day fly was to Delhi ❀ & also it was a bit boring for me.. I love the view of clouds.. I even saw the rain from up the sky & lightning.. But I can't tolerate more hours with the same view.. πŸ™‚

    Neerja.. Glad to hear about your journeys. It was quite an interesting piece.. Loved it.. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. πŸ™‚ I haven’t traveled more than 2 .5 hours on flight till now…so boring hasn’t entered in my flight travel dictionary πŸ˜› may be at long stretches, they may seem bit boring πŸ˜› ..But yes sky is beautiful to watch πŸ™‚ ..thank you for loving everything I write πŸ˜‰ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah.. Long journeys in flight seems to be good for reading a book you love.. πŸ˜‰ I did that in my every fly alone.. Only twice I flied with my family & I enjoyed it.. All other lone journeys were just a fly.. Nothing else.. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am still on with Deepika’s Dance Dream.. 20 pages more.. Not getting time & have another Malayalam novel in bag which also I wish to complete soon.. πŸ™‚
        And what about you??

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh you received her book ..I haven’t 😦 …
        I am still holding ..gone with the wind πŸ˜› read other books in between …after that I would be reading Atlas shrugged ..my long awaited book πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Aww.. May be Chennai flood is delaying your book delivery.. Just wait; they are getting back to normal life.. πŸ™‚ Gone with the wind is in my wish-list.. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      5. yeah hope to get it soon πŸ™‚ and for Gone with the wind ..you need lot of time unless you are a superwoman ..who can read really fast πŸ˜› ..its more than 1000 page book πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  5. My first flight was at about 8 years old. My parents were divorced and my dad moved to South Carolina. I flew for my first summer visit with him. Flew to Atlanta first, had a layover, was sequestered in a room with two other kids because we were little and flying alone. Next flight was to Charelston on a small propellor plane, bumpy and rough, but got to visit the cockpit. It was an adventure and doing it alone at such a young age gave me the travel bug, for which I’m still not cured.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The reason behind the travel was sad 😦 but I am glad that you had the chance to travel alone at such a young age …and had such an adventurous journey πŸ˜‰ Traveling is just like reading..you can’t be cured of it ..atleast not in this lifetime πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This is such a nice blog NJ and I love the pics you took of the puffy clouds πŸ™‚ I remember the first time I flew on a plane it was a rainy day and after we reached the highest altitude above the clouds it was sunny. That was a great feeling to know it was sunny above but raining below. I try and get the window seat as well and I like to snap pics of the clouds, sunsets, sunrise, mountains, anything to do with nature because it’s such a unique view. I will be flying soon enough and I’ll show you what I mean… πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you jenny πŸ™‚ and what a coincidence ..my first time was too on a rainy day πŸ™‚ And I will surely like to see those pictures of yours …Soon πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

