When Funday extends to fun night : Day 6 of A-Z Challenge

 

Well, religion has been passed down through the years by stories people tell around the campfire. Stories about God, stories about love. Stories about good spirits and evil spirits.Andrew Greeley
**********

This is a story of my first fire camp organized by school.

**************

On a chilly foggy Christmas day we all dressed up in casual, we were eager to celebrate the Funday. As the name itself signify it was “all play, no work, making jack a bright boy”.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We brought lot many snacks from the money we collected from each student. It was a full foodies day for us all. Dry cakes, biscuits, Maggi, cold-drinks, chips, and kukure, everything that we never use to get easily at home.

We prepared a carol β€œLord has come, let earth receive the king” and sang it in front of all our teachers, we were given chocolates as token of love.It was my first public singing and it is the only carol, I know, till date.

We dressed our healthiest classmate as Santa, who danced to the tune of our singing.

Later after the program got finished we were asked to play games of our choice, we played until we became hungry again. We were served hot pakoras and coffee to satisfy our appetite.

As the sun was setting a bonfire was set up for us. The darker the night, more beautiful it became. Suddenly all lights were switched off and we saw a beautiful torch dance performance by some of our friends.

Than the bonfire was lit up and we danced till our feet started hurting. We heard stories from our teachers, jokes from students and dance of our other staff members.

bonfire

It was my first night out and first bonfire night at the age of twelve.

PS: Share your first night out or campfire or camping story?

This my attempt for the Sixth day of the A-Z Challenge.

Day 6: F(alphabet)

F

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “When Funday extends to fun night : Day 6 of A-Z Challenge

  1. Great post! I don’t remember my first night out because I have always been someone who loves doing things which are different and having regular night outs with friends has been common with me πŸ˜€ Loving your posts as you’re adding real life events to them πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. Your writings always have a special place in my heart as their bring back a lot of childhood memories. Lovely, little descriptive piece Neerja….Brought back memories of my own camp night with school buddies…getting lost in the jungle, taking bath at the waterfall….Thanks for keeping my memories alive!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. thank you so much Sri πŸ™‚ I am trying my best πŸ™‚ But I know the writing is not that impact full and it should have been 😦 because of the hurriedness in which I write these posts πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I’m loving all your blogs NJ ❀ Really great memories you have and at the end it's fun when you ask the question to everyone. For me, I had many camp fires too I remember making s'mores, singing and sleeping under the stars beside the fire. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks.. And yes, I can understand.. It is getting difficult to find time and manage posting everyday. In hurry it always happens with anyone.

        And your, I mean our story ‘Make your own story’ is still pending. I think Pataliputra is doing fine and out of danger. Just hope it is not this much hot there. I hope Hema ji responds soon.

        Have a good time Neerja.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah it getting tough to think and write every day πŸ˜‰ I pinged hema regarding this but no response ..I think she must be busy with herself because I didn’t saw any new post from her in her site too πŸ™‚
        I too hope our story venture begin again πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow.. Seems great fun Neerja.. Camp fire is such a great feeling when you see everyone standing/sitting around in a circle.

    I am sure you all have enjoyed well then.. I think you enjoyed a lot at the age of 12! Haha..

    So funday was every day then, now we are limited to Sundays.

    My experience of camp fire was in Manali.. We (My engineering friends) were all freezing due to -10 degrees temperature at night and just before in the evening we did rafting. Then we decided to lit a camp fire and share some beautiful moments. That was a memorable camp fire. I still feel its heat..

    Thanks for sharing. Even my memories are litting up now..

    Good evening Neerja.. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

