Home Alone:Day 8 of A-Z Challenge

homealone

Every child has a fantasy of being left alone at home. This story is about my first home alone experience with my brother for few hours.

*****************

Mom was saying again and again to him, don’t leave her alone, don’t go out to play, take care of her, I will be back in two hours. My brother was nodding his head and was grinning back at me. I was continuously asking mom to take me with her. She kept refusing saying children shouldn’t go to mourning places.

Mom was going pay visit to some one’s grieving prayer, so she couldn’t take me with her. As for me ,I actually didn’t trust my brother’s promise of not going out and at the age of five, no child want to be alone at home even for few seconds.

So mom left me assuring she will be back soon and my brother won’t go out. As soon as mom left us, my brother started TV in loud volume. After turning few channels and realizing nothing worthwhile is coming, he looked up at me and asked would you like to eat something.

Me(surprisingly): Mom didn’t cook anything for us.

Bro(wickedly): Who said she did. I am asking would you like to have something if I cook it.

Me(awe) : Do you know how to cook.

Bro(shrugged): I know everything.

Me(smiling): Ok, I would like to have chips.

My brother got up and asked me to accompany him in kitchen. He climbed on the kitchen slab and took out the home-made raw potato chips. He poured oil in pan and started frying the chips. I got bore seeing him doing the task, so I want back to room and started watching TV.

After few minutes , my brother came with a plate full of chips, black burned chips. I glanced at the plate and then at his face.

Me(annoyingly): What is this?

Bro(apologetically): Oh, few of them got burned, but you can eat them from side.

Me(stubbornly): I don’t want to eat this, you eat this burned chips.

Bro(thinking): Ok! I can make something else for you.

Me(squinting) : Are you sure to make it right?

Bro(reassuringly): Ofcourse!

He left the room and came back after half an hour with a bowl full of carrot and bit of milk.

Me(inquiring): What is it?

Bro(proudly): Carrot pudding.

Me(shockingly): You made it so fast, mom says it takes hours to make it.

Bro(jerking his head): I am a fast chef.

I took the bowl and started eating it. I realized, it didn’t tasted like mom’s pudding. It was mixture of carrot and milk with undissolved sugar. But it was the first meal my brother cooked for us. It had the enhance of love , hardship and bonding.

bronsis

Later on my brother hid the burned plate on the exhaust fan place. Mom caught us, the moment she entered kitchen, because we didn’t knew then that frying and burning has strong smell.

PS: Tell me what you did when for the first time your parents left you alone at home? Share your home alone story?

This my attempt for the Eighth day of the A-Z Challenge.

Day 8: H(alphabet)

H.JPG

 

 

15 thoughts on “Home Alone:Day 8 of A-Z Challenge

  1. Aww….your brother is sweet…he actually did take care of you! πŸ˜€
    The first time my parents left me and my sister alone…we were good children…did our homework, ate the dinner mom left on the table for us, and then we started watching TV.
    My parents had asked us to go to sleep at our usual time but we decided we could stay a little late. Before going to sleep I decided to be extra cautious to check the doors and went and double locked it. What I didn’t realize was that double locking it would prevent it from being opened with a key from outside.
    By the time my parents were back, we were fast asleep and my parents kept trying to open the door, ring the door bell, bang on the door for a good 2 hours before my dad broke it open! πŸ˜€
    My parents never left us alone at home for a long time after that episode! πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you ..yeah he is adorable bro πŸ˜‰ meanwhile your story sounds bit scary and funny at same time πŸ™‚ I mean thinking of the time when your parents were stuck outside was bad but now when you think of it ..you must be laughing at it πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so great NJ what a lovely caring brother you have! ❀ I am older than my brother so it was always me watching him πŸ˜› I think his stories of Home Alone would be better than mine πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› One thing I do remember is when we were alone, I let our dog out and she took off. We spent the whole time looking for her and managed to find her so we wouldn't get in trouble!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ha ha πŸ˜€ yeah he is adorable at times πŸ˜› that must have been very tiring and frightening too ..because loosing a pet is not a good feeling .. so did you found him or not ??

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Awww ❀ Neerja Di, that's one absolutely cute moment. I loved it! It was filled with brotherly love. My brother dotes on me too, it's sometimes stunning to see the way he goes to certain extents to take care of me πŸ™‚ ❀ And since I already know another beautiful moment between you and your bro (you remember what it is? πŸ™‚ ), this one made it all the more wonderful ❀ I have a memory for home alone and know I will have for all your posts, so I'm going to save it all for when we meet πŸ˜‰ ❀ Because I'd like to share them all with you in person ❀ Hugs and kisses ❀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. thank you so much deepu ❀ it's fun to have brothers around be it elder or younger πŸ˜‰ they make your life more interesting πŸ˜› I think you are talking about my wedding day πŸ˜› Sure note down everything you wanna tell me in person πŸ˜› so that we don't miss it wen we meet πŸ˜‰ love you ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Brothers are always awesome ❀ And yes! That's exactly what I was talking about πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› We have a lot to talk in person, Neerja Di ❀ Can't wait for that golden day! Love you more ❀

        Like

Leave a Reply

