Ice cream:Day 9 of A-Z Challenge

I doubt whether the world holds for anyone a more soul-stirring surprise than the first adventure with ice cream. ~Heywood Broun

On the onset of summer, I recall a memory of one such hot sunny summer afternoon.

**************

It was last Navaratri of spring season and like always I have a gathered lot of one rupee coins.

Navaratri is a festival dedicated to the worship of the Hindu deity Durga. The word Navaratri means ‘nine nights’ in Sanskrit, nava meaning nine and ratri meaning nights. During these nine nights and ten days, nine forms of Devi are worshipped. The beginning of spring and the beginning of autumn are considered to be important junctions of climatic and solar influences. These two periods are taken as sacred opportunities for the worship of the Divine Mother Durga. The dates of the festival are determined according to the lunar calendar. During Navaratri, some devotees of Durga observe a fast and prayers are offered for the protection of health and prosperity. Devotees avoid meat, alcoholic drinks, grains, wheat and onion during this fast. During the eighth or ninth day, Kanya Puja, pre-pubescent girls are ceremonially worshipped.

This time I was determined not to give my hard earned money to mom. Of course it was hard earned, you have to go so many houses and eat (not exactly), and we generally use to taste the food and gather the gifts and money and run away to another house. It is one day when people seek girls, rather than all other days.

Around 12 pm, one of my friend with whom I was roaming since morning asked me “How much is my collection”? I took out all the coins from my small brown velvet purse and counted them. It was around 15 rupees, it was more than I had expected.

Friend: I have 17 rupees, let’s spend half of it and save the rest.

Me (excitedly): What should we buy? A new kitchen set?

Friend (smirking): No silly, we buy it always, we should do something else.

Me (disappointed): What else?

She (excitedly): We will go to apsara ice-cream parlour. They serve delicious ice-creams.

Me (squinting): That is too far near the main road. How we will cross the road.

Friend (grinning): I went there all alone once, so just chill.

Holding my hand she took me down the narrow lanes. Two girls of eight and nine, dressed in lemon and pink colour frocks and wearing purses on one shoulder walked down the roads. People looked at us with amusement, we smiled back at the onlookers.

girls

We entered the restaurant, the owner looked at us and smiled asking us to the take seat. I ordered my favourite ice cream, two scoops of tutti frooti in a cone. I relished each bite of it and the taste still lingers on my tongue.

Tutti-Frutti-Ice-Cream-2-10

Later on I told my mom that I went to ice-cream parlour without her permission, she didn’t scolded me instead she said that I should tell her when I need to eat ice-cream ,she herself will take me there.

PS: Share your story when you ventured all alone to shopping or eating at a restaurant without your parents?

This my attempt for the Ninth day of the A-Z Challenge.

Day 8: I(alphabet)

I

7 thoughts on “Ice cream:Day 9 of A-Z Challenge

    1. he he 😀 thank you so much ❤ I thought navaratri's are going on, so I should reveal a memory related to it 🙂 I actually wanted to have this tutti frutti after I ended writing the post 😛

      Like

  1. This is such a cute story of you and your friend going to the ice cream shoppe!! How adorable you two must have been in yellow and pink with your purses 😛 I was actually thinking of using Ice Cream for my letter I post but then I figured I’ve blogged enough about food so far I should change things up a bit 😛 Glad you did it 🙂 My favorite ice cream is pralines and cream ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved that lemon frock of mine for a long time and I still have that velvet purse of mine 😉 it was gifted to me by my aunt 🙂 Thank god you didn’t ended up writing it 😛 I never had pralines 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

