Jaggery Love : Day 10 of A-Z Challenge

Close your eyes and pop a piece of jaggery in your mouth.

Let it melt and savour the flavor of its sweetness.

jaggery

 

**********

This is a story of small boy who use to love jaggery.

*******

Jaggery is a traditional non-centrifugal cane sugar consumed in Asia and Africa. It is a concentrated product of date, cane juice, or palm sap (see palm sugar) without separation of the molasses and crystals, and can vary from golden brown to dark brown in colour.

Jaggery is generally consumed in winter season as it’s hot in nature. So we prepare many dishes of jaggery during winter festival, special on Mahasakranti that falls on 14th January.

**************

It was lazy summer noon and preparation for lunch was going on. A boy of three in black half pant and brown shirt was sitting near the kitchen. As in olden times children or people who were not cooking were not allowed inside the kitchen.

Boy (calling her aunt): Mamiji(mother’s brother’s wife) I am having some craving for sweet thing, can you please give me something to eat.

Aunt (smiling): There so many sweets outside, why are you not eating them.

Boy (jerking his head): oh I don’t want it, I want something different.

Aunt (grinning): Tell me what do you want than?

Boy (checking here and there for his mother’s presence): I want jaggery.

Aunt (apologetically): But baby, we don’t have it.

Boy (shocked): Ah! You don’t have jaggery? You don’t get it here?

Aunt (amused): (taking fun in his talks) No Dear, we don’t.

Boy (determined): Don’t worry in our state we have a lot of it, in fact we have whole market just for it. When I go back, I will send a truck full of jaggery just for you.

Aunt (laughing): I will wait for honey.

This incident happened almost 28 years back when I was not even born, but this story has been told to me umpteen times by my aunt. This cute little boy was my brother who then didn’t knew that people don’t eat jaggery in summers and made such big promise of sending a truck full of jaggery.

This memory is reminder how a child’s sweetness and promise.

This my attempt for the Tenth day of the A-Z Challenge.

Day 10: J(alphabet)

J

7 thoughts on “Jaggery Love : Day 10 of A-Z Challenge

    1. ha ha 😀 thank you 😉 I think it came because all other words could not bring back any beautiful memory 🙂 I write these stories about us, so that he can recall somewhat 😛 he has poor memory 😛

      Like

    1. ha ha 😀 yeah he was sweetness overloaded child 😉 everyone’s’ favorite 😛 … I don’t think he had the memory of this promise 😛 he has bad memory 😛 so no he never did it 🙂 Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

