Oblomov’s sofa: Day 15 of A-Z Challenge

 

It’s only words
And words are all I have
To take your heart away

I first encountered this term Oblomov’s when I read the wonderful blog by Shikha.

Oblomov is a man who prefers to live his life by lying on his sofa all day. He feels this is the only way he can preserve his “peace and human dignity”. In Shikha’s blog she beautifully stated what Oblomov’s mean  in detail and why she named her blog the same.

oblomov

*********

Today my story is no pretty tale of childhood, it’s my adult experience which brought me here on WP.

I was already writing once in a while on my blogger.com blog but I never got the right kind of audience neither I was getting the much needed push to motivate me for the same.

I discussed this with one of my friend who suggested me to create my WP blog account. I accepted the suggestion but procrastination kept me away from doing so. Sometimes you know that there is no escape but still you keep running from it. I was doing the same until I reached Oblomov’s sofa.My search for her led me to my first TOI article in India’s leading newspaper.

The article that touched me was named the diary of nobody which talked about leaving a legacy behind even if we die today. The girl knew she would die soon and she didn’t have a child as a legacy so the only legacy she could leave was her words and thus she was creating it.

And that led me to think even if I never get published but still I will have these few blogs, these few words of mine that I can leave behind when I leave this world.

Because words are forever and they never leave this world.

This my attempt for the Fifteenth day of the A-Z Challenge.

Day 15:O(alphabet)

O

 

4 thoughts on “Oblomov’s sofa: Day 15 of A-Z Challenge

  1. Wow! That’s great! That article is so good and touching. . And the quote at the end <3. We all need some push to get the start and inspiration to keep going. And yes, words are forever. We should feel blogging as if we are publishing it our way. Nice one!

    Have a good time. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

