For the man I call… DADY

There’s something like a line of gold thread running through a man’s words when he talks to his daughter, and gradually over the years it gets to be long enough for you to pick up in your hands and weave into a cloth that feels like love itself.
John Gregory Brown

dady1

It’s often said that daughter’s take after their father. I took after mine.

Our story started from the time I was in the making, in my mother’s womb. My father was not in favour of having a second child, he thought that its important to give a single child all they can , rather than dividing that among two. But when my mother decided to go ahead with her pregnancy he didn’t stop her.

Things started changing when my presence became visible to his eyes. The day he laid his eyes on me, I become his favourite.

Our first resemblance is our looks, I had his eyes, his colour, his jaw and his smile. An exact replica of him. People who have never seen me before, recognize me at once as his daughter. I have always been regarded as his daughter.

Our bond doesn’t stop over our looks, it goes much deeper than banyan roots. We agree, we disagree more. We love, we fight a little more. We are funny in our own ways. Two adamant , stubborn duo who love each other immensely and take pride calling each other father and daughter.

My father is an impatient teacher, I am a moody student. So our life has been a sweet and sour tale.

He has a peculiar way of showing his love. And it took me 25 years to understand this love of his.

When I was a little girl, my father’s lap was my second home. I use to eat there, sleep there and laugh there. As I grew up, my habit took a new twist, I started sleeping without dinners. How much, however my mother tried to keep me awake, my sleep didn’t wait for anyone. All those nights when I thought I didn’t have dinner, my father kept feeding me while I was asleep. There was not a single day when my father let me sleep without food.

When I entered my teens, I became stubborn and rebellious child. And all my uncanny desires were fulfilled by my father. Sometimes it was with a fight, sometimes with tears, sometimes by sarcasm, but he made my wishes come true.

My every single achievement brought glitters in his eyes, they spoke of a proud father. He pushed me to get into extra curricular activities. He taught me that life exists outside the academic curriculum. He was my keen listener, for each final debate practice of mine. He was spectator of each final dress rehearsal for my dance competition. He openly supported my reading adventures. He was the first reader for all my writing escapades. My confidence is his bequeath.

Sometimes you never know that unknowingly how much you have learned from your parents. There are so many beautiful lessons and things we unconsciously gather in our system. Its only after years that we realize that we took it from them.

I can’t describe in words how much indebted I am, for all those great advises of yours.

When I was hopeless about my career you said to me “Remember my darling, there is no substitute for hard-work, and it pays off , if not today but sure it will,do,tomorrow.” And this advice of yours has become my holy grail.

We have come a long way, from fighting for reading the newspaper in morning to having same choices in food items and sharing same favourite color.Your love for being on time has been passed on to me. Your vapour like temper has been my genetic gift. Your ambitious nature has been imparted to me.

 But yes I accept that in so many ways that I like and dislike I have taken after you daddy.

But my biggest achievement and gift of all time is “Being your daughter”. Thank you for loving me as and who I am 🙂

Happy Fathers day daddy ❤ Love you ❤

Forever and ever

Your little princess ❤

72 thoughts on “For the man I call… DADY

      1. Ah…. I never want to grow up in that aspect….whenever I go back home my father has all the rights on my time…. and I love spending every waking moment with him… shopping, his clinics, watching TV, arguing, dining out everything….

        Like

    1. Thank you 🙂 Yeah I am quite close to my family 🙂 As its said that daughters take on after their fathers ..so do I have taken some things from him 😉 So it was just a way to thank him for all the things I have just because of him 🙂

      Like

      1. That’s so lovely. 🙂 For me I think I’m rather well balanced between the both of my parents, I look like my Dad but my personality is probably 80% my Mom. I grew up with her though so I guess it were always going to be the case, I’d have probably been more like my Dad had he spent more time with me. Regardless of the fact there’s always a special bond with father’s and their girls!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Beautiful post there, NJ. It’s great to relate yourself with someone you idolize. And it’s the greatest when that someone is your dad. It was a pleasure to read this :-).
    And by the way, you write really well. It’s been a long time since I’ve read something good. And now, I guess I have hit a treasure or something! 😛

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much vipul 🙂 it really feels great to know that you felt connected with my writings 🙂 I hope you keep coming back to read more of my stuff 🙂 check out my summer diary memoirs 🙂

      Like

      1. 🙂 Say my hi to her 😉 meanwhile it’s not cool to ask a girl’s age 😀 but for your info I am pretty old …would be hitting 28 next month…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Now that’s a big time concidence ..what’s her bday date ?? Mine is 28th 😛 You now have lot of Neerja ‘s in your life …By the way I am not a teacher 😛 working as a s/w engineer 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey! How are you doing? This is reallllllly beautiful…. And trust me when I say I haven’t read anything more beautiful.

    ..
    Your daddy must be proud of you…..

    Warm regards from an new admirer you’ve got…..
    🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks a ton shaggy (hope this isn’t your real name :P) ..yeah dad was really cool about this post 🙂 This is my way of showering love towards loved ones 🙂 cause I am not that good when it comes to emotional talks 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much 🙂 I really happy that you liked my post 🙂 And no worries about being late 😉 Wish you the same 🙂 would be come to your blog to read your future post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Sri 🙂 A compliment from you is always very special 🙂 I am so sorry for replying so late 🙂 Hope you are doing great too 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you so much deepu ❤ Yeah dad hasn't read it till now, his net wasn't working so he will be checking it today in office 😛 ..Hope you too had a great day with your dad 😀 ..I am checking your mail right now 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. NJ what a beautiful Father’s Day gift for your Daddy 🙂 I have to say the first thing that ran through my mind when I saw your post is how much you look alike!! 🙂 Your roots definitely run deeper than banyan roots and it’s so sweet how he used to make sure you ate before sleeping and even while sleeping 😛 It’s great to see how much you have in common with him and I’m sure when he reads this he is going to love it ❤ You did an amazing job writing it! 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Thank you so much jenny ❤ yes as I said the first thing people who notice about us is our looks 🙂 dad hasn't read till now but he would be reading it in a while and I hope the love I wanted to shower on him through this post of mine reaches to his heart ❤ thank you so much for reading it 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

